The Knob and The Bonk, Presented by Foscoe Rentals

Date and logistics

October 10, 2014, 5:30pm start

Check-in for both The Knob and The Bonk are at the Watauga County Library in downtown Boone.  The Knob will start from the library and will finish at Howard's Knob Park.  The Bonk will start at Howard's Knob Park and will finish at the library.  Shuttle service will provide transportation in both directions for particpants and spectators (please bring car seats if the spectator is required to use one).  Because parking is very limited at Howard's Knob park we enourage the use of the continuously operating shuttles. Parking is free and unlimited at the library.  Packet pick-up will be 10/10/14 from 3:30-5:00pm at the Watauga County Library. On-site registration is available during the packet pick-up times. Payment accepted at on-site registration is limited to cash and checks.

Please be prepared for heavy homecoming traffic on race afternoon.  The Knob abd The Bonk will start promptly at 5:30!


Route description

The Knob and The Bonk will run simultaneously -- 2 miles of pure hill in both directions! The Knob begins at the Watauga County Library in downtown historic Boone. Out of the parking lot you'll begin the Knob ascent with a left turn onto Queen St. which becomes Grand Blvd. Taking a right onto Bear Trail, the route will then take a left onto Eastwood/Junaluska Road.  Finally, after a major climb and with the peak in-sight, the route takes a right onto Howard's Knob Road and finishes in Howard's Knob Park. The route reaches an elevation of 4,406 feet (1,343 m) above sea level, and climbs nearly 1,000 feet (300 m) above the town of Boone and the campus of Appalachian State University. The course is surrounded with fall foliage and unparalleled views from the top.

The Bonk (backwards Knob) will begin at Howard's Knob park with a jubilant cheer from 4,406 feet above Boone. Following the same route as The Knob, only backwards, the run will end at the Watauga County Library.

Plan on plenty of merriment during this race as it is an official ASU Homecoming event and the last race in the Triple Crown series. Participants who finish all three races of The High Country Triple Crown will be recognized following The Knob!


Race Fees and Registration

register button

Now until 9/22/2014: $20.00

     9/23/2014 until raceday: $30.00

     Register for all three Triple Crown races for a discounted rate of $90.00 (this special offer good until 5/27/2014)

     ***Note, registration is only on-line through or day-of at the event! On-line registration closes at midnight on 10/7/2014.  Only participants registered by 9/22/14 are guaranteed to receive t-shirts and goody bags.***






All participants registered by 9/22/14 are guaranteed to receive Knob or Bonk t-shirts and goody bags. The top three male and female finishers for The Knob in each age category, and the overall* top three male and female finishers will receive awards. Special prizes from our sponsors will be given away throughout the Triple Crown Events.  Starters of The Bonk will receive special awards but will not be eligible for age category or overall awards.

Triple Crown Winners: Runners who complete all three Triple Crown races (The Cub, The Half Marathon and The Knob) will receive special awards. The top three overall* male and female runners as well as the top three overall* female and male grandmasters (age 50+) will split $1,500.00 in cash awards following The Knob on October 10, 2014.

*It is the policy of the HCTC that overall winners are displaced from age group categories for awards.  This policy also applies to cash awards in the Overall and Grandmaster categories. All awards need to be claimed within 30 days of the race date.



Cash refunds are not offered for this event, however, you may transfer your entry to another runner as long as the other person checks in at the registration table to switch registration information. The new person must also complete a participation waiver.  Recipients of transferred registrations are not guaranteed a t-shirt or specific t-shirt size.



2013 Results by Agegroup

2013 Results by Overall

2012 Results by Agegroup

2012 Results Overall

2011 Results by Agegroup

2011 Results Overall


Course Topographical Map

The Knob Route with elevation (link to USA Track and Field Map)

2014 Triple Crown Race Dates!


The Cub (7-Miler),                    June 14, 2014    8:00 am

High Country Half Marathon, August 30, 2014   7:30 am

The Knob/The Bonk (2-Miler), October 10, 2014     5:30 pm

Visitor Information

Triple Crown Contenders 2014

Men 2014

  1. Caleb Masland
  2. Caleb Critcher
  3. Damon Braxton

Women 2014

  1. Michelle Lutz
  2. Kate Griewisch
  3. Kathleen Mansure

Grandmaster Men 2014

  1. Stephen Spell
  2. Damon Anagnos
  3. Thomas Warner

Grandmaster Women 2014

  1. Michelle Johnson
  2. Cheryl Madyda
  3. Jill Venable

2013 Triple Crown Winners

Men 2013

  1. Peyton Hoyle  2:04:47
  2. Caleb Masland  2:11:44
  3. Jack Brown  2:34:21

Women 2013

  1. Jackie Parsons  2:46:38
  2. Jessica Smith  3:03:50
  3. Michelle Johnson  3:14:08

Grandmaster Men 2013

  1. Jack Chambers  2:50:39
  2. Stephen Spell  3:04:39
  3. Bobby Mash  3:16:49

Grandmaster Women 2013

  1. Eri Ohashi  3:20:12
  2. Joan Hearn  7:09:02


2012 Triple Crown Winners

Men 2012

  1. Peyton Moyal 2:09:55
  2. Caleb Masland 2:13:02
  3. Daniel Phillips 2:24:07

Women 2012

  1. Lori Crotts 2:34:57
  2. Meredith Bazemore 2:47:19
  3. Taylor Gupton 2:50:32